The Thoughts of Gunnar


Some Thoughts on Acts 2:42
May 26, 2009, 7:45 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

In this passage, the Bible says to be DEVOTED to the teaching of the apostles, to fellowship, the breaking of bread together, and to prayer. (And shortly thereafter, the scripture says they gathered together DAILY at their homes.)

Devoted is a really, really strong word.  And so is the word ‘daily,’ in this context.  What I want to get at is, if we are part of groups that really only end up meeting once a week, (or that is all the gatherings we attend,) there is no way, long run, your church experience will suffice as when held to this passage in the new testament.  At least in my practices, I have never been part of a group where gathering only once a week, for even 4 to 5 hours, could possibly suffice for our needs to be devoted to the teachings of the apostles, or to devotion to fellowship, to the breaking of bread, and to prayer.  

I am believing more and more each day we were all meant to be in such an environment.  Sure, it may look different for some than others, and I also respect ‘seasons’ of our lives where perhaps one of those four things gets more time than others for a spell.  But at the end of it, I would think it would be well for our lives if we can say, “In my following of Jesus Christ, I was devoted to Him in these four areas.”  Apparently, that plan was sufficient for the church at the very beginning.

I also find it interesting how those devotions were listed immediately after the church SUCCESSFULLY handled growing from 120 to 3120, in one day!  This passage struck me recently, when I was thinking of how many sermons (A LOT!) I have heard about ‘preparing, and being ready for the harvest.  Well, I’d say going from 120 to 3120 a day is a pretty fantastic harvest.  And their ‘program’ (I am using ‘program’ tongue-in-cheek) was again, being devoted in those four areas, amongst some other things listed through verse 44.  The math on that is for every believer that was there at the beginning, 26 new ones were added, IN ONE DAY. 

My prayer for myself today is that I choose to live devotion to Jesus and His wisdom DAILY, and while life has many things that will come my way, I will not stop being devoted to knowing His Word and the teachings of the apostles, I will not stop being devoted to fellowshipping with my brothers and sisters in Christ, that I will break the bread with spiritual (and real) family God has given me, and that I will not stop being devoted to prayer-all on a daily basis.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

