The Thoughts of Gunnar


Receiving Part 2-We May Need To Receive Outside of Our Box
February 13, 2015, 9:07 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am guessing the majority of us have read this common story before:
A terrible storm came into a town and local officials sent out an emergency warning that the riverbanks would soon overflow and flood the nearby homes. They ordered everyone in the town to evacuate immediately.
A faithful Christian man heard the warning and decided to stay, saying to himself, “I will trust God and if I am in danger, then God will send a divine miracle to save me.”
The neighbors came by his house and said to him, “We’re leaving and there is room for you in our car, please come with us!” But the man declined. “I have faith that God will save me.”
As the man stood on his porch watching the water rise up the steps, a man in a canoe paddled by and called to him, “Hurry and come into my canoe, the waters are rising quickly!” But the man again said, “No thanks, God will save me.”
The floodwaters rose higher pouring water into his living room and the man had to retreat to the second floor. A police motorboat came by and saw him at the window. “We will come up and rescue you!” they shouted. But the man refused, waving them off saying, “Use your time to save someone else! I have faith that God will save me!”
The flood waters rose higher and higher and the man had to climb up to his rooftop.
A helicopter spotted him and dropped a rope ladder. A rescue officer came down the ladder and pleaded with the man, “Grab my hand and I will pull you up!” But the man STILL refused, folding his arms tightly to his body. “No thank you! God will save me!”
Shortly after, the house broke up and the floodwaters swept the man away and he drowned.
When in Heaven, the man stood before God and asked, “I put all of my faith in You. Why didn’t You come and save me?”
And God said, “Son, I sent you a warning. I sent you a car. I sent you a canoe. I sent you a motorboat. I sent you a helicopter. What more were you looking for?”
While this picture may be a bit dramatic…I can relate from times I have basically done the same thing.  In my earlier Christian years, I used to often desire such an incredible showing of God, that I did not take the time to see where He was showing Himself clear as a bell, through fellow saints.
When I was about 24 years old, with huge ‘ministry’ ambitions on my mind, a brother in the Lord from my church approached me about a business offer.  He was in negotiations for the rights for a very famous dining chain for the area where I lived, with plans to have numerous units.  And he wanted me to run them all.  An incredible opportunity for such a young man.  Furthermore, this gentleman I knew had great means, but I loved his heart.  He funneled massive amounts of resources to the world’s neediest places, and would spend about a month a year staying and serving in a leper colony overseas, as a way of being reminded what he was to use his resources for.  As an older brother to me, he would have been an incredible guy for me to hang around.  Because this place hired lots of young people, and that was a huge desire of mine at the time-to help serve young people…it would have been enormous.  I felt I was called to have a rocking youth ministry at the time…but unwittingly, on my small understanding and terms.  My other dream was to see awesome acts of God all over, not just in church buildings.  This guy would have let me do anything I wanted as unto the Lord in those businesses.  While God is gracious and can restore, as I look back, I missed a powerful lesson on sometimes others and the Lord most certainly knows more about what I need than I do.  Sitting, pondering, and trusting the heart of the Lord in another would have served me well then.  But I was into ‘my’ voice and ‘my’ view a bit too much.
I’m interested if any of you would care to share a bit in the comments and relate.  Has there been times God brought something for you to receive that you may not have taken? Have you at times let your boxes and terms shut out provision God was bringing?  Our stories, I am convinced, will help us all see more clearly as we need to!  Your story is important!  Maybe recently learning from that, you have a huge breakthrough you’d like to share on heeding Christ as He shared through others.  Either way, share away!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

